Articles

Latest updates (4th Fortnightly/4th Monthly)

In Fortnightly, Ideas, Monthly, Updates on April 23, 2007 by Jim

I owe all of you big time as I missed on my fortnightly (I think 2 or 3) and monthly (one) updates.

Following are the development on my side.

Research/work Progress

The KAP survey data have been re-encoded making it possible for a more detailed analysis. I’ve submitted a first draft to Subhash for his comments and I’ll make a copy of the report available to all ASAP. I’m still doing some cleaning of the data analysis and graph/table presentation but the major results are already included in the draft report I’ve submitted.

I’m satisfied with the data that I have and the results that we’ve achieved.

Literature Review

I got sidetracked by the KAP survey data encoding and report writing that I set aside writing the review of litereature. However, I was thinking much about the research proposal.

After much contemplation, a few research and comments solicitations, I’ve realized that my goal to establish an animal health communication theory is not possible. A former supervisor and professor commented that theory building in communication should transcend message sectors such as agriculture. Another one noted that what I should focus on is building a theory in communication strategy for animal health.

I was close to considering these as setbacks but I think I’m still on track about establishing the importance of communication in animal health programs. It might just a matter of how I logically defend my thesis but I think for now I would have to drop the goal of establishing an animal health communication theory.

Given the comments, I’m looking at a possible strategy of documenting how GMS countries, specifically Cambodia, Lao PDR and Viet Nam, initiate and implement communications programs on animal health specifically on TADs control. I will also review communication strategies and communication theories to relate findings on the GMS countries. What is needed at this point is establishing that there is a difference in communicating animal health as opposed to public health communication. This would entail long debate and I believe I can defend my strategy/thesis.

Subhash assured me that there is some funding for communication activities for the first one year extension of the project. I’m racing against time to draft a communication plan for the following year that would contribute to my research goals.

AB-CRC

I’ve received the scholarship documentation from AB-CRC by email, first, then by post. I’ve returned the papers/forms that needed to be returned like the acceptance letter and finance form. I’ve also sent you the professional development plan. I’ve put in a, hopefully, manageable and logical plan for the first year. I do hope that you’ll all find time to look into it and suggest other things that you deem I should take for the first year.  

Visa Developments

I’ve previoulsy informed all of you of the favorable assessment of my pre-visa requirements. The Australian Embassy, however, cautioned me not to make final arrangements as the visa application is not yet complete. I’m just awaiting the issuance of the electronic certificate of enrollment from Murdoch University then we (my family and I) will proceed to medical examination.

After submitting the eCOE, medical exam results, OSHC proof of payment (again), passports, it would be another waiting game as to when they will return the visa with or without the visa stamp. But I’m quite confident that, at this point, it will be a favorable one.

Leave a Reply

