Articles

Episode

In Blog, Reflections on September 15, 2010 by Jim Tagged: , , , , , , ,

I am now nearing the end of my journey and it’s a pity that I wasn’t able to religiously document my journey. The challenge of conducting this research project was so big that I had to take extra care in consuming time. I’m supposed to be a trained writer and while I do love writing, I do not have the gift of a story-teller and occasionally slip into blocks and “minor” challenges.

This morning, however, I had the shock of my life. I am not sure what to say or feel.

The day began early as I dropped off my wife to work 4:30am in the morning. I was trying to finish a chapter yesterday and actually slept while writing the draft. Obviously I was tired than usual when I started this day. I tried to sleep again to recover and proceeded to do my chores after I woke up. I prepped the kids’ brekky and picked-up wifey again from the early morning work.  The day was normal, I think.

Ten to 8am, I dropped off wifey to her second job. Drove off. I was about a kilometer from my wife’s work when I realised that I was thinking about what I was going to write today, the arguments, etc. That’s fine, isn’t it? But then I had this feeling of having a bucket of cold water poured on me when I realised that I was driving to uni already! I totally blacked out in the 1km that I was driving and didn’t realise what was happening or what I was doing. I prayed so hard to compose myself and made sure I was back to reality. I wasn’t even prepared to go to school yet!

I drove back home. I thought of visiting the health service. Resorted to just posting what happened online and a nurse friend told me that I had an “automode” episode when the brain processed things faster than usual. He said it was “normal” during stressful episodes.

Bittersweet? Yes but thank God I’m still sane.

Leave a Reply

